The Daily Focal Point

October 15, 2008

Nothing like mushrooms and a laser show

Filed under: Week One — cabenelson @ 9:44 pm

I

Love

You

Timed Exposer! I’ve always loved time lapsed photos especially those that are taken at night. There is something cool in the way that you can manipulate photographs without digital trickery or Photoshop gimmicks. I love the idea of exposing the film in such a way that it makes you look twice and think about how the picture was actually taken. These photos were done on the same night when Kim and I woke up at 3:00 AM or so to see a lunar eclipse. Apparently this type of eclipse was so rare we wouldn’t be able to see another one in our lifetime. Kim and I have always been suckers for these types of events. When we woke up we saw that the lunar eclipse still had over an hour to go before it peaked. Kim went back to bed while I pulled out my Nikon and our tripod and started goofing around. This was done on a 35 second timed exposure while I was holding a small emergency flashlight. What happens is that the shutter inside the camera instead of going “click-click” goes “click…… (wait 35 seconds)……click” This means that the shutter is staying wide open and soaking in as much light as it possibly can. When you have a no light situation and then include a light source (cue our weak-sauce emergency flashlight) the camera will pick up only the lightsource and record each motion you made while holding it. Time lapsed photos can usually only be done with a manual camera that has an adjustable shutter. Your normal “point and shoot” cameras can’t accomplish this as it is always on an automatic setting where the camera’s sensor reads the light available and then chooses the best option for the photo. I’m telling you now, as I will again and again, invest in a Digital SLR camera. IT’S WORTH IT. Even if time lapsed photos is the last thing you’re going to do, having a solid camera to take pictures of kids, family, vacations etc is worth it. These are your memories, make them last and document them as much as you can.

By the way, the “I love you” was directed at my wife who tried to stay awake that night but couldn’t make it!

And I’m throwing in a picture of swirls… because let’s face it, who doesn’t love swirls?

Blue Light Swirel

2 Comments »

  1. Hey Caleb, your pictures so far are great. I love that you are telling how you did them too. We recently got an SLR and I am ashamed to say that I don’t know how to do much else than point and click so many times in hopes that a few turn out.

    p.s. i love your kimba too

    Comment by Heather — October 16, 2008 @ 1:15 am

  2. […] Halloween. I took this last year when Kim and I stayed up for the moon’s super rare lunar eclipse It really was spectacular and I’m grateful I stayed up to view it. The funny part was is that […]

    Pingback by Halloween Eve « The Daily Focal Point — October 30, 2008 @ 11:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

