The Daily Focal Point

October 18, 2008

St. Thomas

Filed under: Week One — cabenelson @ 11:28 pm

Paradise

This picture was taken back in 2004 and is still one of my favorites. I took this while I was on vacation with my family in St. Thomas and the surrounding islands. I love it just for the fact that I really didn’t do anything to make it beautiful. Call me a purest but manipulating this photo in Photoshop would have just ruined it.

I shot this using a 35MM (regular film) Nikon SLR before digital SLR’s were widely available. I loved that camera, and shooting with film really forces you to get the photo right the first time. I shot with negatives (black and white mostly) for about 7 years, so needless to say I have boxes and boxes of negatives in storage that I haven’t been able to scan and digitize yet. Since this photo was one of my favorites I made an exception and I couldn’t have it sitting in box under my house. I wonder what other photos I have in those boxes… maybe one day I’ll find some time to scan them all in.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

