The Daily Focal Point

October 31, 2008

FEARS

Filed under: Week Three — cabenelson @ 3:12 pm

For today’s photos I thought I would post things that scare the crap out of Kim and I. Kim has an irrational fear of spiders and I have a underlying fear of horses… yes horses.

Meridian

I like animals and I love dogs. I WANT to like horses but for some reason I still can’t get over it. I think it goes back to when my brother shot me with a toothpaste cap with his paint ball gun. (I usually blame everything on that)

When Kim spots a spider in the house she’ll do one of two things. She’ll either freeze up, go dead silent, and have huge saucer eyes while she tracks it on the wall. Or she’ll close her eyes and scream. The absolute worst happened about 5 months ago right before Kim and I went to bed. We walked into the bedroom and she started screaming. I looked up and saw a fat spider hanging on the wall just above her side of the bed. I knew that I had ONE CHANCE to get this spider, if not it would land on her side of the bed and I knew it would be the end of the world for Kim. To make it worse I had taken out my eyes contacts and couldn’t see a thing. I grabbed our little Dirt Duster Cone vacuum (yeah, I know bad choice) and took a deep breath. I flipped it on and made the quickest Jedi move possible. The air blowing out the side of the vacuum blew the spider off the wall even before I had the nozzle close enough and it landed on Kim’s pillow with a little “thud”. There was about .02 seconds of silence before Kim’s brain decided to process the horrible event. Then all hell broke loose… She spent the next 15 minutes ripping off the sheets and pillow cases. Her common phrase that I hear more than anything else is, “Cabe, WE NEED TO SPRAY” Meaning I need to spray for spiders outside…
So this one’s for you Kim. Happy Halloween honey!

Spider

1 Comment »

  1. It’s true, he is scared of horses.

    And…I’m absolutely terrified of spiders. I’m going to have nightmares just looking at this photo.

    Comment by Kimba — October 31, 2008 @ 8:15 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

