The Daily Focal Point

November 16, 2008

The Octopus and The Drums

Filed under: Week Five — cabenelson @ 10:02 pm

Sonoma

I love this title… normally I royally suck at labeling my pictures and I actually find it to be one of the hardest things to do. Seriously, I sit there staring at the computer with my eyes glazed over and drooling trying to think of something. It usually comes out WAY too goofy, predictable, or too “look at how DEEP this title is… take my photos VERY seriously”. For some reason this one makes me think of a real sweet band or something. Maybe I should name our “Rock Band” group “The Octopus and The Drums” See… this is why I get paid the big bucks.

So ONTO THE PHOTO! I usually will only shoot with natural light. I don’t have lighting equipment, I try to avoid taking pictures inside unless I have natural light coming in from the windows and I NEVER use my flash. My hatred for the flash goes deep and I will usually avoid taking pictures if the lighting is so terrible that it requires it. I’ve messed around with directional flashes before and they aren’t too bad as you can control the intensity of the flash and more importantly the direction of the flash. So you can bounce it off close by walls or the ceiling, it makes it look a lot more natural than just BAM! FLASH IN YOUR FACE!

I love this photo because it showcases the use of natural soft light. I really wanted the main subject in the picture to be the light…. the octopus on the tile is pretty sweetness too.

FYI, I’ve received some REALLY good photos for this week’s Photo Challenge on B&W Architecture. I was getting so stoked just quickly scanning through them. So if your haven’t sent me yours do it ASAP as the post will show up tomorrow morning. You can email them to me at cabenelson (at) gmail (dot) com.

And now for some funky A music! This song has been stuck in my head for the past few days and it’s just the beat and rhythm. This is one of the weirdest music videos I’ve seen as well. I don’t understand it, but more so it amazes me the way they shot it. It truly looks like an old western as they shot it in real film with burned edges and all. This is a band called AIR (The Octopus and Drums is SO much better) and the song is called Alpha Beta GaGa. Embrace the freakiness…

1 Comment »

  1. I’m a natural light person as well. It’s the best way to get some really good shadow shots too.

    I think really fast and not too hard on the titles.

    Where was this taken?

    Comment by Dr. Cason — November 17, 2008 @ 4:15 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

