The Daily Focal Point

November 19, 2008

New Perspective

Filed under: Week Six — cabenelson @ 11:23 pm

Flower

Today’s post will be short and sweet as Kim and I are like walking zombies over here! I snapped this pic about 5 days ago while Kim and I were on one of our many walks around the neighborhood to try and kick start the labor. This is part of the reason why I love California… IT’S NOVEMBER for crying out loud. Yes, it does get cold here at nights (sometimes) but for the most part the weather is beautiful. I don’t have a macro lens but I did use my 50-200mm Nikor lens and just zoomed the crap out of it. That’s it!

I didn’t feel right to post tonight and not mention the largest life changing event I have ever gone through. I’ll I can say is that I was (and still am) completely blown away. It was a perspective altering experience that I don’t believe I could ever put into words. It has changed how I view life in general and given me a different perspective on my beliefs. I am incredibly grateful for a healthy wife and a strong baby boy. It was quite the experience that didn’t exactly turn out how we had initially planned with the induction. I’m sure my wife will provide a well written and humorous first hand account shortly. I also wanted to mention how proud I am of my wife. I haven’t experienced watching someone you love and care about be in a high level of pain and not being able to do anything about it. (I have a much greater appreciation for Dr. Cason and what she does on a daily basis) In the end my wife did such an amazing job.

One quick funny story. About 2 weeks before our due date one of my major priorities in preparing for the hospital was to have our Nikon D80 fully charged and ready to roll. It was one of the first things I put into the car when we had to rush to the hospital that night (besides my wife of coarse) and it was one of the first bags I grabbed when we pulled in. By the time Kim was ready to push (she only pushed 7 times by the way) I had it in my hand ready to snap pics of our new child. The minute they placed him on Kim’s chest, I took the moment in and then grabbed the camera. I framed our baby boy Wyatt and with anticipation I pressed the button. The picture didn’t take! “Did I not charge the battery?!” I thought. Nope fully charged! It was a massive level of panic that lasted until I looked on my display. In big flashing letters it said, “NO MEMORY CARD FOUND!” I totally spaced it! In all of my preparation I forgot the card in my laptop from the night before. Kim and I joked that it was true “Caleb Fashion”.

I’m wanting to purchase a new lens for portraits and upclose shots. I’m wanting a fixed lens or something. Does anyone have any suggestions on a good fixed lens or portrait oriented lens?

Thank you all for your well wishes and congrats! Trust me you’ll see plenty more pics of Wyatt, he is pretty cute.

2 Comments »

  1. Ok, the voting for this week was pretty hard, and if you had put wyatt’s pic up I would have voted for him. I LOVE the drums and octopus. I want that in my house somewhere. For christmas, K? Seriously. I want that. Love you, get some sleep you zombie. AHHH ZOMBIES!

    Comment by Abby — November 20, 2008 @ 1:11 am

  2. That is a beautiful flower! I love its frilly center. 🙂

    No memory card? Oh no! I hear tell that a 100mm is a perfect portrait lens. Really when we’re doing portraits I use the 70-200mm so I can stay outta the face and hubs uses the 24-105mm as he likes to be closer.

    A lot of people recommend the 50mm for portraits too, which we have but rarely use. SO I guess it depends on how close you want to be and how much you want to show in the photo, and. . .
    🙂

    Comment by Lisa's Chaos — November 21, 2008 @ 6:09 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.