The Daily Focal Point

November 22, 2008

The World Through a Camera

Filed under: Week Six — cabenelson @ 9:37 pm

Peeps in SF

I was inspired by Dr Cason’s most recent post in capturing REAL situations outside of her window. The first picture she posted is beautiful. It inspired me to find a photo of mine that capured something real. As I’ve mentioned before Kim and I… and Wyatt (man, I got to get used to saying that) live in the San Francisco Bay Area and visit “The City” (what people call San Fran around here) semi often. It is a gorgeous city right on the bay, surrounded by amazing architecture, and FULL of people. Which is part of the reason I dread going up there on the weekends. The driving and the amount of people in the city is bad enough to give me a seizure I swear, but I DO love to people watch. I posted the larger image because what makes this photo isn’t the overall scope of the picture but the details in each area. From the people upfront and out of focus, to the crowd in the middle, the stop lights, palm trees, and the bird in mid flight on the very right side of the picture. This is one of the pictures that has about 4-5 individual pictures in the image. My perspective on life has changed since we’ve had this beautiful baby boy. As I’m looking at all the different people in editing this photo, I have the overwelming feeling of how huge this life actually is. We always say that the world is small but when I study the faces of all these people in just this small snap shot, I realize that each person has their own lives with their own families and their own thoughts. Each person acts independently and every single one of them has a different view point on life. I don’t mean to get too deep here, I guess I’m just trying to describe my preference for this picture.
Also there is nothing like listening to great deep music when you people watch, especially when you people watch through the view finder of your camera! This song is perfect for people watching and contemplating life and your place in it. It’s Ray LaMontagne – Empty (click on the link and hit the play button halfway down the page. I hope you all enjoy-

ALSO DON’T FORGET! EMAIL ME YOUR THURSDAY PHOTO CHALLENGE PICTURE BY TOMORROW! Remember, there’s no particular subject. Just send me one of your favorite photos!

2 Comments »

  1. Go ahead get all deep on us. It’s always nice to hear a new father wax poetic.

    Comment by Dr. Cason — November 23, 2008 @ 8:54 pm

  2. I like this. Please do more and more on Photoshop. I love it. Going to play with this tonight.

    Comment by Kathleen — December 1, 2008 @ 9:16 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

