The Daily Focal Point

November 24, 2008

PHOTO CHALLENGE: INSERT HERE – RESULTS!

Filed under: Insert Here!, Photo Challenges! — cabenelson @ 11:16 pm

I don’t know about you, but I love these photo challenges. I love seeing each of your very different and very talented perspectives. I was telling my wife tonight (as I was showing her a preview of all of your pictures) that THIS is the reason why I wanted to do this. I wanted to create a platform (no matter how small it is) for OTHERS to showcase their photography talents with a group of individuals who love it just as much as they do. Just like last week, I am extremely impressed with the talent of those who chose to participate.

So let’s get to it!

This photo comes from Belina Blue Eyes. Belina is one of my closest friends and actually what I like to call my “Second Wife’s” wife. She’s actually my business partner’s (who is called my second wife) wife and just so happens to be best friend with my REAL wife. Have I lost you yet? Kimba and Belina met when they were six years old and have been inseparable ever since. So it’s fitting that their husbands should be business partners no?
Scmabbie
Belina says this about her photo, “I haven’t doctored it up or anything because I don’t really know how to. I just took it out in my garden one day, and it’s of the center of a sunflower, which I didn’t know had tons of mini flowers inside. I thought it turned out really cool!”
Yes it did Belina. I love the burst of color and the sheer detail in this entire photo. It gives your eye a significant amount to take in and play with. Doesn’t it make you want to reach out and touch it? It’s a beautiful photo. Also, if you check out her blog quick you can see a picture of her on a moose. No joke…

The next photo comes from my newest friend Trish and the picture she submitted is just serene.
Trish
Trish decribes her photo saying, “This is a sunset over the beach at Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur. This was very much both the peace and turbulence I was feeling at the time and saw the opportunity to capture it.”
I couldn’t agree with Trish more. There is a sense of hope AND despair that comes across in this picture. The mood seems to shout that times are turbulent now but there is hope. (atleast that’s the way I take it) It’s a wonderful shot. She has many more beautiful pictures on her blog of her trip to Cabo that you need to check out.

This photo comes from one of my childhood friends from the city we both grew up in. I was so excited when he found this P-LOG and had no idea he and his wife had a love for photography too. Danny and I have had some really good times over the years and we are both grateful for a strong group of friends.
danny
Danny’s shot is just warm and beautiful. Danny says, “This picture was taken in Jackson Hole last fall. I asked Maddie where she wanted to go anywhere in the world for a honeymoon and she said she just wanted to to to Jackson Hole with the camera. So we spent 5 days in Jackson, the Tetons, and Yellowstone filling memory cards and came back with quite the selection. This is one of my favorites. We got up before dawn to photograph the sunrise one day and as we were driving around I thought this was really picturesque, so I pulled over and snapped a few shots. I love the variety of effects that the rising sun has on the trees. On the left the trees aren’t back illuminated, so they just appear as a clumped silhouette. In the middle (beyond the road) they are being lit from behind as is the sky, which creates a neat effect. Then on the right where the sun is shining through, the lighting highlights every detail of the branches.”
I love the warm lighting and the curve in the road. For some reason curved roads and old rusted out cars in B&W are some of my favorite things to photograph. This is a beautiful shot Danny.

This photo comes from my very talented and wonderful friend Dr Cason. For those of you who don’t know Dr. Cason, she lives on Guam with her family and works as a Pediatrician. Her life on Guam is an amazing experience that we all get to be in on as she shares her experiences and pictures regularly.
Froggy Instrument - Copy
Dr Cason describes her photo saying, “This is of a little frog instrument I got in Bali. I bought it for my son and loved the dark rich rustic tones of it. I tend to like things with texture and character so this fit it for me.”
This is one of my favorite parts of “macro” shots. You can stare at it for 30 minutes and still not be able to figure out what it is but that’s not the point. The point in many macro shots (such as Belina’s above) is to create striking photo all based on tones, texture, and color. I love this photo. The dark tones of the carved wood makes this wonderful and exotic. One thing that might get overlooked here by the rustic tones is how perfect the lighting is.

The next photo is from KJ at 12 Little Feet . KJ is a jet setter, which is convenient as that’s the title of her newest post. She seems to have traveled so many different places and I envy her exotic photographs. Seriously, last week she posted a photo from Chile and she has some fatastic pictures recently posted on her blog.
KJ bellies dancing
This photograph is absolutely stunning. It blew me away when I first saw it. Exotic right? The angle is perfectly captured and the colors is what makes the photo a 10. Absolutely, beautiful. It’s just a fun and vibrant picture. I love it.

The next participant is Ginger from Ramble Ramble. Ginger always seems to have wonderful photos that are well composed. Composition seems to be her style (and is mine) and her photo’s are wonderful.
Ginger
Ginger says, “I love the fact that, unlike most of my photos, the subject is dead center. It really only worked that way too, to get the symmetry of the circle. I also love the mixture of old rusty metal with the organic bright green grass. The juxtaposition between those textures, and colors, makes this one kind of cool.”
I tend to get into a grove to place the main subject not in the center of the frame. In this photo it wouldn’t work if it wasn’t. It’s a wonderful picture showcasing texture and shape. It’s a powerful photograph that would go well on a wall with three others of similar shape and size. Beautiful eye and a wonderful photograph!

Our next photograph is from my new friend Gail at “From the Back Deck” This photo is a beautiful use of placing the main subject just out of the middle of the frame and it is shot PERFECTLY.
3053311032_80776df823
Gail says this about her picture, “I know, trite. But I love flowers. This one is not a perfect flower, and this makes it just a little more unique.”
You wouldn’t be able to compose this picture any better. These are one of my favorite plants (we have about 6 growing on the side of our house now) and the lighting really shows off the glossy leaves and the soft part of the flower. It’s a wonderful shot.

This one comes from our vetran participant who has been with me since the beginning of this site. Stacy is a wonderful friend has has an amazing eye for photography.
stacy
This photo is almost dreamlike. It’s a beautiful use of textures and lines. It pulls your eyes in different directions and has you follow the illuminated wheat. I don’t see the main subject in the photo as being the man in it. Rather, in my opinion it’s overpowered by the vegetation and that’s a good thing. The placement of light in relation to the subjects works very well together.

And finally, our last entry is from Mary Elizabeth who’s eye for shooting portraits and people is fantastic.
Mary Elizabeth
This photo really blew me away. Mary Elizabeth gives us the background on this photo. “It is a photo I took back in September of two of my best friends. As I have just started to seriously get into photography, earlier this year I would ask my friends if I could take pictures of them. For this shoot we went out to Antelope Island on a stormy afternoon. The setting could not have been prettier. The gray skies made everything so vibrant and full of life. This shot is by far my favorite from that shoot. One thing I love the most about it is that it wasn’t a posed shot. This was one of the first ones I took, I don’t think my friends even knew I took it! It was just as they were walking down the hill to get to were I wanted them to go to start taking pictures. I love that they are holding hands (the ground was super unstable!) and the way their hair is blowing and the colors and the feel. Definitely a fav. I hope you enjoy it as well!”
Really this photo just stunned me. The setting, the tones, the colors, the two girls, EVERYTHING works with this photo. It’s an epic picture that needed ALL of these to come together in order to get the shot. Well done!

Thank you everyone for participating this week! I didn’t think we could be the quality of the photos last week and I was wrong. All of these pictures are just amazing. So, which one’s do you like? Which photo grabs your eye?

11 Comments »

  1. Wow, Caleb! Thanks for posting these pictures! I really loved all of them and getting to read your comments on them! I’m not a great photographer, more of just a typical take-pictures-at-parties kind of girl, but seeing your pictures and these ones you posted are making me want to try to get some really good, creative shots!

    Comment by Kjersti — November 25, 2008 @ 1:33 am

  2. That last one looks like a painting! I love it!! And the bellydancers picture is just captivating, too… I think those two are my faves this week, but they are all fantastic 🙂

    Comment by Jaden — November 25, 2008 @ 8:10 am

  3. Did you not get my pic?

    Comment by Danny — November 25, 2008 @ 9:25 am

  4. I love the last one, too. I love it because it reminds me of home and I love the different colors in it.
    I am so impressed with everyone’s shots! It makes me want to get out there and really put a lot of thought and creativity into photography.
    Cabe you are so nice and good at this. You should teach photography lessons!

    Comment by Abby — November 25, 2008 @ 12:17 pm

  5. My reward is seeing you participate SCHMABBIES… awwwww

    Comment by cabenelson — November 25, 2008 @ 12:22 pm

  6. I also love the last one. It looks surreal and makes you want scoot up closer to the screen to get a better look at the people.

    Comment by Dr. Cason — November 25, 2008 @ 3:24 pm

  7. Yep, Cabe, the last one is unbelievable. It is enchanting and inviting. It has the feel of the Old Masters to it. Something out of a museum.

    Comment by Gail — November 25, 2008 @ 6:51 pm

  8. Fantastic! These are all so great, and so different. When I saw the first one of the sunflower, I had a panic moment like, “Oh, I should never have sent my photo…this one is way too good!” I continued having that thought as I scrolled down. But then I realized, they are all so different and really amazing and beautiful in their own way.

    I could honestly go on for ages about what I like about each one. But I’m going to say that the sunflower is my favorite, because it surprised me…I didn’t even know what it was sunflower! I’ll definitely look closer at the next sunflower I see.

    This is fun, Cabe. Thanks for letting us participate!

    Comment by 12littlefeet — November 25, 2008 @ 8:24 pm

  9. I echo everyone’s comments. The pictures are awesome! There was only one thing I wished to correct….. I’m the man in our relationship, not the woman.

    Comment by Brian — November 25, 2008 @ 9:18 pm

  10. No, SCABIES. My reward is getting to be YOUR FRIEND….awwww.

    Comment by Abby — November 26, 2008 @ 6:57 pm

  11. […] photo cracked me up. It comes from my second wife’s wife Abby at Belina Blue Eyes. I thought I had some pretty freaky photos but dude… LOOK AT THEM! […]

    Pingback by RESULTS! PHOTO CHALLENGE: ABSTRACT « The Daily Focal Point — December 8, 2008 @ 11:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

