The Daily Focal Point

January 27, 2009

PHOTO CHALLENGE: EYES RESULTS!

Filed under: Uncategorized — cabenelson @ 11:09 am

Well hello again! So how does everyone feel like they did? This was the first time I’ve been specific in these challenges and I thought these came out great. Once again, I am blown away at how all of you raised to the challenge and exceeded expectations.

So onto the challenge!

Our first photo this challenge comes from Rob at Dusty Lens at Dusty Lens – North Metro.

Luminous Cat Eyes

Rob says, “Here is my interpretation entry for the Eyes challenge. Luminous Cat Eyes
This evening, just Roaming the Cities, Mr. J, St. Paul Photos, Snapshutter, myself and Mrs. DL met up at Cossettas in St. Paul for a winter photo walk about. Despite the balmy -4 degrees F (-19 degrees C) we strapped on our mad bomber hats braving the y winds. We spent the time admiring the ice sculptures throughout Rice Park for the annual St. Paul Winter Carnival..”

I love the blue hue to it. Great pic Rob.

Our next photo comes from our newest participant Carlos at Still Format. Again, Carlos has some serious skills with his Canon. Some stunning photos on his site.
emilio
Hmm… I think I’ve seen this one before! Beautiful soft lighting

Our next Photo comes from Sheila at DrCason.org. Sheila has some fantastic photography tips on her site. Check her out!
Single Eye
I love the tunnel vision and the way this was taken (by using an old SLR lens and turning it backwards in front of your camera) provides a nice tunnel vision macro. love it.

Our next photo comes from Kathleen
kenziestroller
Kat says, “Here is my photo for the eyes photo challenge. As you can see from my Mackenzie’s eyes, brown eyes run rampant in our family. Mackenzie is so beautiful with these long eyelashes too. Oh what a precious little girl she is to her grandma kat.”

Grandma Kat! I love that. 🙂 Beautiful brown eyes indeed! Great picture!

Our next photo come from Stacy. This photo just POPS! I love it!
Jaci
Stacy says, “Here is my photo. This was taken on Christmas Eve at JD and Lindsay’s house. The kids were getting ready to go to bed and Jaci was extremely excited to say the least. This photo just makes me laugh. This just captures the essence of Jaci. Her fun, sweet, and hyper personality. I’m not 100% happy with the editing. I couldn’t get the photo to look exactly how I wanted to. Any suggestions?
Stacy I love this picture. Like I said, it just pops! You’ve got such an extremely excited girl with a fun background. I counted the times I can see your reflections in the Christmas balls. What a fun pic. Great job Stacy

This photo comes from Gail at From The Back Deck.
Out the Window
Gail says, “Eyes come with expression and expression comes with eyes because eyes are saying something, and that changes the face. I don’t have any beautiful, angelic children to photograph right now. So, here’s my entry to your challenge, eyes that are a little older, wiser, and tuned in to their world.”
I absolutely love this photo. So much real life in it. I love the reflection. It’s perfectly composed. Great pic Gail.

Our next photo comes from Terry at Not Quite Country Girl
DSC_0954icopy
Terry says, “This is a tough one, since I have SO MANY photos of beautiful eyes! But I
thought I’d go a different route, contrasting the innocent hopeful eyes of a
baby with the tired desperate eyes of an elderly woman.”

DSC_0753i-cropcopy
I took both of these photos on a trip to India this past October. The Hindu
baby came with her mother to a medical camp where I was helping. What
gorgeous, big brown eyes! This elderly Hindu woman was sitting on a step as
I strolled through a village. Her eyes reflect her life, a very poor,
destitute existence. But after I took her photo, I showed it to her on the
LCD screen, and then her eyes were smiling with delight! I found it amazing
how especially the older people loved having their pictures taken and then
were amazed and giggly when they saw the image!”

I love the first one. It just blew me away. Exotic, wise, weathered. All of these words come to mind. I’d love to see it in black and white. (I hate when people say that, sorry. I just love the image!) Great pictures Terry! Very beautiful

Next is Tiff at My Three Ring Circus. This is Tiff’s first time posting on the DFP and I couldn’t be happier that she’s participating. I’ve loved her blog and especially her pictures for some time now.
Tiff Says, “Hi Cabe, Hope you don’t mind an Aussie joining in with the challenge.”
better
Tiff says this about her photo, “This is a photo of my daughter Ivy. She is chronically ill and had been for a two weeks. This was taken the morning she started to feel (and look) better. I love the relaxed look in her eyes and for the first time in days they are clear and they look relaxed.”
I’m blown away by this picture Tiff, it’s absolutely beautiful. Eyes are very telling of someone’s emotions, she does look relaxed. I’m glad to hear she’s doing better.
ivygirl
Tiff says, “We were on the beach at sunset the other night and the light caught her eyes. People have been speculating that her eyes are changing to a greeny colour, as opposed to blue. This was a photo of her that I first thought, maybe…”
I love the feel of this one. Great picture!

Next is from from my other cousin in-law Joanna
dscn0899_edited-1
I love the angle of this and the shades. Seriously Jo, this is a fantastic picture.

This photo comes to us by way of Ginger at Ramble Ramble. It’s good to have you back Ginger!
One blule eye
“I took this photo over the holidays–this horse on my parents
ranch has this one stunning blue eye, which just looked amazing next to
that beautiful red/brown coat. He didn’t want to hold still very often, so
the fact that I got this shot is a bit of a minor miracle.”

I’m sure, like me, you probably have 50,000 of this horse trying to get the shot. The contrast between the coat and the bright eye is awesome.

Our next entry is from Mary Elizabeth check out her non-photography blog (still has some fantastic images) http://www.maryeclev.blogspot.com/
2776453658_abbf82387d
Mary Elizabeth says, “This is my beautiful friend Ashley… I love this shot for many reasons — but mainly it is the beautiful color of her eyes that almost perfectly match the wood door frame behind her. The combination of those + her beautiful red hair, i think it’s a stunning photo of her…”
I’ve seen this on your blog and it has been one of my favorites of yours. It’s the red hair and the background that stand out but it’s her eyes that make the image pop. Wonderful Mary Elizabeth.

Our next photo is from Kevyn at KJ YOU’RE BACK!!! It’s good to see your face ur um… pictures around here again!

Kevyn said, “It took forever to decide, but I think I’d like to go with these two (or you can pick one). I tried making a mosaic of the best shots from the weekend but it turned out kind of creepy, like some multi-eyed creature.”

Alf
Kevyn says, “First, here’s Alfred, my cat. He is always getting in front of my camera (often when I’m not after another cat photo) so he’s pretty easy to get good shots of.”

January 25
“And this is Bijou, the neighbor’s dog who is staying with us for a while. She’s a sweet, gentle dog and this photo of her eyes says that to me”
Sweet puppy. The contrast and color in the cat is amazing. Great shots.

Next up is my friend Henie at Henie Art Online Henie is extremley talented and has some just amazing photos on her site. I’m a fan because the ones she has of people just seem so REAL. Not posed or fake, just in the moment. Check out her site.
IMG_0435AKEye2
This is why I love eyes for the subject. They are multi-layered and seem to have as many colors in them as a Kaleidoscope. Beautiful capture here Henie.

This photo comes from my old buddy Danny. Who has become a staple around here with these challenges! Danny inadvertently became a participating member of this challenge. He sent me a bunch of pictures and I picked this one and asked if I could share it.
This is of his dog Jack.
IMG_7239
We need to get Bear and Jack together and get some energy out of my dog!

Our next batch comes from Nana Nana’s photography is just wonderful, check out her submitted photos.
grasshopper

grasshopper

Is it me or when you see these insects up close it looks like they belong on another planet? I love these two!

And finally we have one of the funniest things that happened to a good friend of mine Chris at Chris-Soapboxes who my or my not have some acid induced posts. (just kidding Chris… or am I?)
Chris has been denied access to the DFP challenges before… inadvertently…. yeah.
Chris sent me an email just recently with this explanation, “So I found out from your helpful wife that I’ve been sending emails with photos and AD quotes to the wrong email address (calebnelson@gmail.com.) My last email was signed “Of course they’re strippers – can’t you see how hot they are!” I always thought my photos just weren’t getting posted because they just sucked. Anyways, I wanted you to see my submission for movement – even though it’s too late. It’s not blurry or anything, but it screamed movement to much to me to not have you see it”
So I’m posting his late picture that was for last time’s challenge on movement.
DSC_0121_edited-1

6 Comments »

  1. I just love these challenges, Cabe. I love to see what people come up with. Such different ways of seeing the world. I look forward each week to seeing the results. (and so was happy to see your little note to check in later for results this morning.) Thanks for hosting.

    Comment by Gail — January 27, 2009 @ 11:23 am

  2. These are all so incredible. And I love the late entry for movement. Isn’t he cute!

    So many different ways it is so amazing — wonder if we could market some striped contacts for that grasshopper eye look?

    Comment by Kathleen — January 27, 2009 @ 11:33 am

  3. WOW! I am so impressed with everyone. Terry, Tiff, Mary Elizabeth, and Nana were stand outs for me. I absolutely love them. The grasshopper is so unique. I couldn’t ever get that close to any insect. I’m not what you would call and outdoorsy kind of girl. ha ha ha

    Comment by Stacy Stevens — January 27, 2009 @ 11:53 am

  4. These were awesome and one of my favorites of your challenges.

    Comment by Sheila@DrCason.org — January 27, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

  5. Nice variety here! I love photos of eyes. Mary Elizabeth’s photo of her friend is gorgeous. The older Indian woman shot is stunning. Glad you shared the story that when she saw her photo she was all smiles. This was a great challenge. Thanks for the welcome back.

    Comment by 12littlefeet — January 27, 2009 @ 10:45 pm

  6. Cool.

    Comment by Audubon Ron — January 28, 2009 @ 1:12 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.